Drive Dat Academy

6701 Airline Drive, Metairie, LA 70003

Phone: 504-533-9495 Español: 504-232-9012

Email: drivedatacademy@gmail.com

COVID-19 NOTICE - ONLINE CLASSES

Thank you for visiting our website. We hope that you are home taking care of yourselves. As of right now the Governor has ordered all state driving schools to suspend in classroom teaching and behind the wheel lessons until further notice.

The good news is for those of you who want to get the process started the State Training and Certification Unit has given the driving schools permission to do online classes. As of right now, we have scheduled one teen and one adult class online. Space is limited as we can only accept 25 students in each class. The OMV Knowledge Test will be given through the guidelines that the Governor’s office and the Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles sets forth at the time the Driving Schools can reopen. Please go to class dates on our website and sign up for the class you wish to participate in. Teens need the 30-hour class and Adults need the 6-hour class.

As of right now we do not know when the State is going to allow us to conduct the behind the wheel portion. Teens and Adults need 8 hours of behind the wheel driving to complete the requirements for a license to drive. As soon as we can start, we will begin driving students who where scheduled to drive before the lock down was placed.

In order to participate on the online classes, you must have a computer or device with a camera, microphone, and internet in order to be able to participate in the live online class. The cost for the online classes is $150 dollars for the teen class and $100 dollars for the adult class. When the State allows the schools to do the behind the wheel portion the 8-hour behind the wheel portion for the teen class and adult class will be $300 dollars for the students who took the online class.


IMPORTANT NOTICE: The Louisiana Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV) will implement the temporary instructional permit (TIP) effective 09/04/2018. Prior to completing enrollment, the driving school must obtain a copy of the applicant's TIP and maintain a copy of the TIP and proof of the enrollment in the students file.

*****Click here for updated information for getting TIP for 38 Hour Teen Class******

*****Click here for updated information for getting TIP for 14 Hour Adult Class*****

Download Louisiana Driving Manual (English)

Descargar el Manual de Conducir de Louisiana (Español)

Fox 8 News did a story regarding the TIP card and interviewed our staff. The story gives you the idea behind the TIP and problems with it. Be prepared to wait in line and make sure you have the proper documentation. At the top of the page we have a lists of documentation needed to get the TIP card. Please read carefully to avoid multiple trips to the OMV



Welcome to the Graduate License Program. This class will be the first stage of your commitment in obtaining a driver's license to operate a motor vehicle.

With great power comes great responsibility!

On January 1, 1998, Louisiana implemented a graduated licensing program. It is known as the R.Y.A.N ACT (Reduce Youth Accidents Now) and was named for a fifteen year old, Ryan Lee, who lost his life in a traffic accident a few short months after being licensed. The GDL (Ryan Act) does not attempt to directly change driver behavior. This law limits a new driver's exposure to high risk situations, such as driving at night. Limitations are lifted gradually as a driver becomes more mature and gains experience by developing his or her driving skills to become a safe and responsible driver. As your instructor, I will make it my mission to prepare you in the classroom and on the road to fulfill all the requirements to obtain a driver's license and to become a safer driver.